Nature Walk, October 20, 2017 – Windy Day

Courtesy of Blue Dragon Journal

Blue Dragon Journal

DSCN4303

Nature Walk, October 20, 2017 – Windy Day

We’ve had a lot of rain and wind today.  When I looked outside this morning, I wasn’t sure if it was going to rain or not but thought I would chance it.  I really needed a walk in “nature”… which for me in this area equals my two favorite wetlands.

DSCN4307

Upon arriving at Wakodahatchee, I noticed that there were more birds present, including anhingas, egrets, and Great Blue Herons.  There weren’t too many birds wading in the dark waters; rather they were perched in the pond apple trees, a short shrubby native tree that grows in marshes hereabouts.

When I came around a bend in the trail, I noticed a Great Blue Heron with a long branch in its beak.  Then the realization hit me: The herons were beginning to build their nests!

Here are some more photos, some taken at Wakodahatchee…

View original post 66 more words

Posted in Uncategorized. Tags: , . Comments Off on Nature Walk, October 20, 2017 – Windy Day
